Strawberry Shortcake

This is from the Betty Crocker Cookbook: Everything You Need to Know to Cook Today (copyright 2005), page 199.  It tastes almost exactly like my gramma’s strawberry shortcake: halfway between a biscuit and cake, slightly sweet and slightly crumbly.  I unfortunately broke my immersion blender so I couldn’t make real whipped cream, but it was still super tasty with grocery store ‘frog spit’ (the term my family uses for whipped cream from a can- I know, pretty horrendous if you think about it, but I grew up with it so I think it’s endearing).

I feel like I’m a more natural cook than baker- I usually skim the ingredients of a recipe and focus more on the instructions- so this time I didn’t quite pick up that it called for 2 pints of strawberries.  I grabbed only 1 pint, so the strawberry mix was super-sugary.  I’m not complaining.

Strawberry Shortcakes

6 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 pints strawberries (4 cups), sliced and 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup firm butter
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 large egg, slightly beaten
  • Whipped Cream

Directions:

  1. Oven: 375 degrees Fahrenheit. (Toaster Oven: ~350 degrees)
  2. In large bowl: stir strawberries and 1/2 cup sugar together.  Let it sit while you make the shortcake (in the fridge is nice).
  3. Grease bottom & side of 8 or 9 inch round pan and flour it lightly*
  4. In medium bowl: mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
  5. Cut in butter using pastry blender until mixture looks like coarse crumbs.
  6. Stir in milk and egg just until blended.
  7. Spread evenly into pan*
  8. Bake: 30-35 minutes (Toaster Oven: 25 minutes) or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool for 10 minutes.
  9. Cut it into wedges.  Split each wedge if desired in half.
  10. Pour strawberries over the wedges and top with Whipped Cream.

*Drop Shortcakes: Oven at 425 degrees Fahrenheit (Toaster Oven: ~400 degrees). Make dough and then drop it by spoonfuls about 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 12-14 minutes (Toaster Oven: ~10 minutes) or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

